Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Don Hunsinger Award

NCAC Don Hunsinger Award Winners

2022: Marcus Hong, KEN (release)
2021: Wesley Slaughter, WAB (release)
2020: Ahmed Hamed, OWU - (release)
2019: Erich Lange, WAB - (release)
2018: Jason Wesseling, DEN - (release)
2017: Trevor Manz, KEN - (release)
2016: Geno Arthur, OBE - (release)
2015: Casey Cempre, DEN - (release)
2014: Andrew Chevalier, KEN - (release)
2013: Curtis Ramsey, KEN - (release)
2012: Sharif Kronemer, OWU - (release)
2011: Kyle Herman, OWU - (release)
2010: J. David Gatz, OWU - (release)
2009: Kyle Holliday, OWU - (release)

Nomination Form 

The North Coast Athletic Conference Don Hunsinger Award commemorates the former Oberlin administrator and coach who had a far-reaching influence on the athletes he coached in a wide variety of sports.

Over more than three decades, Don Hunsinger served Oberlin as athletic director, chairman of the department of physical education, had stints as head coach for Yeoman football, baseball, and men's and women's tennis, and assisted with the men s and women s basketball programs. Four times he earned NCAC Coach of the Year recognition, twice in men's tennis and twice in women's. Hunsinger, who retired from the College in 2008, continues to serve the conference as Director of Tennis and assists in the administration of the conference's swimming & diving championship.

The award recognizes one male sport senior student-athlete who has distinguished themself throughout their collegiate career in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership. Each conference institution can nominate a distinguished male sport student-athlete for the honor. A committee of North Coast Athletic Conference administrators, in conjunction with the conference office, makes the selection.