Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Pam Smith Award

The North Coast Athletic Conference Pam Smith Award commemorates the former Wittenberg women’s basketball head coach and associate director of athletics who had a profound impact upon the athletes she coached and the students she taught over an illustrious career that spanned more than two decades.

Pam Smith was the architect of the women’s basketball program with the most wins and highest winning percentage in NCAC history through 2007. A 1999 Wittenberg Athletics Hall of Honor inductee, Smith earned seven NCAC Coach of the Year awards and compiled a 401-170 record after taking the reins of a struggling program prior to the 1986-87 season. She led the Tigers to eight NCAA Division III tournament appearances, twelve 20-win seasons, and 11 NCAC regular season championships.

The NCAC Smith Award winner will also be nominated for the NCAA Woman of the Year award, one of the most prestigious honors the NCAA bestows. The award recognizes senior student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service, and leadership. Each NCAA conference, and independent institutions, can nominate one distinguished female student-athlete for the NCAA Woman of the Year Award. The NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics meets in August to select the top 10 winners in each division. In September, the selection committee then evaluates the 30 honorees and choose the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the CWA vote from among the top nine finalists to determine the Woman of the Year. The top 10 honorees and the nine finalists from Divisions I, II and III are honored and the annual NCAA Woman of the Year winner is announced at a dinner in Indianapolis.

NCAC Pam Smith Award Winners NCAA Woman of the Year Program State Woman of the Year Winners
  NCAA Woman of the Year Winner Ohio Woman of the Year
2019: Hannah Orbach-Mandel, KEN (release) 2003: Ashley Jo Rowatt, KEN 2005: Jill Boo, DEN
2018: Julia Wilson KEN - (release) National Finalists 2004: Kayla Heising, WOO
2017: Ellie Crawford, KEN - (release) 2009: Tracy Menzel, KEN 2003: Ashley Jo Rowatt, KEN
2016: Haley Townsend, KEN - (release) 2004: Kayla Heising, WOO 2002: Katherine Dunne, WOO
2015: Maggie MacPhail, DPU - (release) 2003: Ashley Jo Rowatt, KEN 2000: Aleashia Washington, WOO
2014: Paige Gooch, DPU - (release) 1998: Heather Heitsenrether, WOO 1999: Dawn Reinhardt, WIT
2013: Leah Sack, KEN - (release) 1991: Rebecca Little, KEN 1998: Heather Heitsenrether, WOO
2012: Alisa Vereshchagin, KEN - (release) National Semifinalist 1993: Jennifer Carter, KEN 
2011: Katie Navarre, DEN - (release) 2009: Tracy Menzel, KEN 1991: Rebecca Little, KEN
2010: Sarah Shinn, OWU - (release Top-9 Finalist Pennsylvania Woman of the Year
2009: Tracy Menzel, KEN - (release) 2015: Maggie MacPhail, DPU 1998: Jennifer Erdos, ALL
2008: Erin Gorsich, DEN - (release Top-30 Honorees  
  2015: Maggie MacPhail, DPU  
  2014: Paige Gooch, DPU  
  2012: Alisa Vereschagin, KEN  
  2011: Katie Navarre, DEN