Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

DPU's MacPhail Named Pam Smith Award Winner

DPU's MacPhail Named Pam Smith Award Winner

Recent DePauw University graduate Maggie MacPhail (Indianapolis, IN/Park Tudor) has been selected as the recipient of the 2015 North Coast Athletic Conference Pam Smith Award.

MacPhail proved to be one of the most highly recognized women's tennis players in the NCAC over the past four years, earning All-NCAC first-team singles honors from 2012-15 and landing on the top doubles team in 2012, 2014 & '15. In four seasons with the Tigers, she posted a 61-43 singles record and was an impressive 97-39 in doubles competition. She earned All-America honors in the 2013-14 season after teaming with Caroline Emhardt to win the Intercollegiate Tennis Association/United States Tennis Association Division III Central Regional Tournament and then going on to finish sixth overall in the Div. III ITA/USTA National Tournament. During her freshman campaign, MacPhail was named the North Coast Athletic Conference Newcomer of the Year as well as the ITA Central Region Rookie of the Year. She qualified for the NCAA Division III Singles Championship in 2013 and the Doubles Championship in 2014 and 2015. This spring she was named the ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sportsmanship and Leadership Award winner for the Central Region.

MacPhail graduated from DePauw this spring as a biochemistry major with a 3.65 grade-point-average and plans to continue her academic career in the fall by pursuing a Masters of Science in Biology from Purdue University. She was inducted into the Chi Alpha Sigma National Scholar-Athlete Honor Society and the Alpha Lambda Delta Academic Fraternity. She authored "Intraprocedural cleansing work during colonoscopy and achievable rates of adequate preparation in an open-access endoscopy unit" in Gastrointestinal Endoscopy.

A member of the Mortar Board National Honor Society, she was a recipient of the President's Award for Excellence Scholarship and the Condit Science and Mathematics Award. MacPhail also interned in the Indiana University School of Medicine Research in the Gastroenterology Department and was a student researcher at DePauw on "Synthesis and Characterization of Novel, Metal-Containing lonogels."

MacPhail was the team's representative to DePauw's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee during the 2013-14 year as well as the senior class representative on DePauw's Student Philanthropy Committee and served as a First-year Experience mentor. She also volunteered with the Team Riggle Foundation for Parkinson's Disease and as a clerk at the Genesseret Free Medical Clinic and an aid in the Putnam County Hospital Emergency Room.

MacPhail was one of six outstanding nominees considered by the selection committee. The other candidates included:


The NCAC Woman of the Year Award commemorates former Wittenberg women’s basketball Head Coach and Associate Director of Athletics Pam Smith, who had a profound impact upon the athletes she coached and the students she taught over an illustrious career that spanned more than two decades. She was the architect of the women’s basketball program with the most wins and highest winning percentage in NCAC history through 2007. A 1999 Wittenberg Athletics Hall of Honor inductee, Smith earned seven NCAC Coach of the Year awards and compiled a 401-170 record after taking the reins of a struggling program prior to the 1986-87 season. She led the Tigers to eight NCAA Division III tournament appearances, twelve 20-win seasons, and 11 NCAC regular season championships.

As the NCAC winner, MacPhail will be nominated for the NCAA Woman of the Year Award, one of the most prestigious honors the NCAA bestows. The award recognizes senior student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service, and leadership. Each NCAA conference, and independent institutions, can nominate one distinguished female student-athlete for the NCAA Woman of the Year Award. The NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics will meet in August to select the top 10 winners in each division. In September, the selection committee will then evaluate the 30 honorees and choose the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the CWA will vote from among the top nine finalists to determine the Woman of the Year. The top 10 honorees and the nine finalists from Divisions I, II and III will be honored and the 2015 NCAA Woman of the Year winner announced at a dinner in Indianapolis October 18, 2015.