Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC Tennis All-Decade Teams

NCAC 30th Anniversary Tennis Teams

Kenyon's Michael Greenberg and Oberlin's Ariel Lewis head an impressive list of student-athletes named to the North Coast Athletic Conference's 30th Anniversary men's and women's tennis all-decade teams.

Ariel Lewis (2009-12) {left}, a four-time All-NCAC first-team selection, earned NCAC Player of the Year honors in 2009 and 2012 and was also named the league's Newcomer of the Year in 2009. Lewis, a 2012 Oberlin graduate, spent a majority of her four-year career with the Yeowomen in the No. 1 singles position and compiled an impressive overall record of 93-27 during that time. Lewis competed in the NCAA Division III singles national championships in both 2011 and 2012 and also played an integral role in leading the Yeowomen to the championship match of the 2012 NCAC Women's Tennis Tournament.

Denison's Megan Damico (2006-09), also a four-time All-NCAC first-team honoree, was the only other women's student-athlete named to the all-decade team that earned multiple NCAC Player of the Year distinctions over the last decade. Damico collected back-to-back NCAC Player of the Year awards in 2007 and 2008. In four years with the Big Red, she compiled an overall singles record of 60-20, including a mark of 40-16 in the No. 1 spot in the lineup.

In addition to Lewis and Damico, Denison's Kristin Cobb (2008-11) and Kenyon's Amy Schlessman (2010-13) were also four-time All-NCAC first-team selections in the previous decade. Cobb and Schlessman both earned NCAC Newcomer of the Year honors in 2008 and 2010, respectively, while Cobb was also named the NCAC Player of the Year in 2011.

Michael Greenberg (2008-10) {right} was the most decorated NCAC men's tennis player in the last 10 years as he earned three-straight NCAC Player of the Year awards from 2008-10. Greenberg, who was also the 2008 NCAC Newcomer of the Year honoree, posted an overall singles record of 81-15 (.844) in just three year's with the Lords' men's tennis program. Greenberg jump started his career at Kenyon with the highest individual honor in the country as he won the NCAA Div. III singles national championship with a 3-6, 6-4, 6-4 victory over Middlebury's Filip Marinkovic in the championship match.

Two other former Kenyon student-athletes named to the all-decade team were back-to-back NCAC Player of the Year honorees, including Borko Tesic (2004 & 05) and Paul Burgin (2012 & 13). In addition, Denison's Jordan Buehler (2006-07, 09), Allegheny's Pat Cole (2011-13), Wabash's Jay Horrey (2006-07, 09) and Oberlin's Chris Pray (2006-08) joined Greenberg and Burgin as three-time All-NCAC first-team selections in the last decade.

Kenyon's Mike Herrick is the lone selection to also be named to the NCAC's 20th Anniversary all-decade men's tennis team, while Allegheny's Pat Cole is the only current student-athlete to be selected to the 30th Anniversary all-decade squad.

The North Coast Athletic Conference is celebrating its 30th playing season by selecting All-Decade teams in nearly every championship sport. Players from the first 10 years of play were selected in 1993-94, while players who competed from 1993-2002 were named to the 20th Anniversary All-Decade team. All current head coaches were asked to vote, as were some former coaches and administrators.

The Kenyon Lords won nine of the 10 NCAC men's championships in the last decade, with Denison interrupting that string by collecting the title in 2006. In women's tennis, Denison opened the decade with eight-straight conference titles, but the DePauw Tigers are the two-time defending NCAC champions since joining the league in the 2011-12 academic year.

Founded in 1983, the North Coast Athletic Conference currently consists of 10 academically selective NCAA Division III colleges and universities - Allegheny College, Denison University, DePauw University, Hiram College, Kenyon College, Oberlin College, Ohio Wesleyan University, Wabash College, Wittenberg University and the College of Wooster along with affiliate member Earlham College (field hockey). The NCAC sponsors 23 championship sports, 11 for men and 12 for women.


NCAC All-Decade Tennis Teams



1984-93 (Men)